I do not hate myself.

22 Nov

At first glance, the title of this post may seem a little random and like it doesn’t have much to do with anything. But there is a point….

I read in the media this evening that a prominent media personality (who’s name I shall not mention) has declared that people suffering autoimmune illnesses must hate themselves and these illnesses can be cured with self-love. Yes, you read that right folks.

And before I go any further, yes I do recognise that there is a mind-body connection. If your mindset is in certain places, there will be physical consequences. I do accept that and believe it wholeheartedly.

But…this only goes so far.

This media personality has been quoted saying “self-hatred causes auto-immune disease, which, boiled down, is the body attacking itself.” I suffer from autoimmune diseases. These autoimmune diseases attack specific areas and tissues in the body, and for me, it’s my thyroid.

So going by this self-hatred logic, I must hate myself. Correct? Well, no. While I do not act like a self-absorbed person who thinks they are the be all and end all, I do have self-love.

Dictionary.com defines self love as “the instinct by which one’s actions are directed to the promotion of one’s own welfare or well-being, especially an excessive regard for one’s own advantage.”

I listen to my body and my actions are based purely on what I need at any given time. Tonight for instance, it’s been a very long week and tonight I have swollen ankles and feet (due to poor circulation because of thick blood) , so I am rather uncomfortable from the pressure of the swelling and I’m also tired. So, I’m laying low and playing on my iPad while in bed with my feet up on a pile of pillows. My body needs my feet elevated and for me to rest, so I am. This is my self-love. I give my body what it needs and I do things which will promote my well-being.

I am a prime example of someone who has self-love and has auto-immune illnesses to contend with. The mind-body connection is there, but saying that autoimmune illnesses are because of self hatred doesn’t sit well with me. Autoimmune illnesses include Type 1 Diabetes and MS. These rather serious conditions can not yet be cured by modern medicine, but can be managed. Saying sufferers can “cure” themselves with self-love is only leading to a sense of false hope which is unfair to sufferers, carers, family and friends.

Leave a comment