Dry July 2016 is on!

22 Apr

Yes, I know what you’re thinking – I am aware it’s only April. But sign up for Dry July 2016 is open. As soon as I saw on Facebook that registrations had started, I wasted no time in signing up. I actually wasn’t home at the time and I did the whole sign up process on my phone thanks to a free WiFi connection.

DJ16_Support-MY_600x600.png

I’ve done Dry July for the last 3 years in honour of my friend, Lucy. Lucy is my inspiration. She fought the bravest battle I’ve ever seen, but unfortunately, she lost her battle with cancer in July 2012. She was just a teenager, her whole life was ahead of her, but it was cruelly cut short thanks to nasty Thyroid Cancer.

Lucy was incredibly brave, and did so much to fight the disease that was going to take her life. Everyday since her passing, Lucy has continued to inspire those who either knew her, or heard her story.

Every year, Dry July is my way to honour Lucy’s life. I take part in the fundraising and money I raise goes to Royal North Shore Hospital (Sydney); the same hospital Lucy was cared for by an amazing bunch of medical staff. But, I raise the bar even further (no pun intended…haha), and not only do I go 31 days without alcohol, I also go without caffeine for the 31 days too! No alcohol, no coffee, no caffeinated soft drinks…nothing!

I love coffee…especially good barista made coffee. But for the sake of fundraising, and in the memory of Lucy, I go without.

If you’d like to join me, get in touch and I can make a team and have you on board. Or, if you’d like to shoot a donation my way, that would be amazing. You can see my fundraising page by clicking here.  Thank you in advance for all the support.

Lucy, my dear girl, this is for you!! It always is and always will be. I miss you everyday. Thank you for giving me the strength to face life’s challenges and to do so with the same grace and determination you showed.

Leave a comment